Skip to content

How I Found Great TV by Getting Lost

September 24, 2009

The year was 2005. I was in my first year of college. There were two things that I knew for sure, instant ramen was a godsend, and modern TV was crap. I didn’t bother watching anything on TV because I was convinced that there was nothing good happening on the small screen anymore. I knew and loved many a show from yesteryear like The Twilight Zone, The A-Team, Rocky and Bullwinkle, The Muppet Show, and pretty much any show that was playing on Nickelodeon in the early-to-mid 90s. All I knew about the television of today was that it was full of crap.

And then a friend of mine told me about Lost. This friend lived in the same dormitory and had gotten the first season of Lost on DVD. We and 3 others began watching and as I saw that incredible pilot episode unfold before my eyes, I was sure that I was watching the second coming of good TV. Little did I know that this show was just the tip of the iceberg.

Over the course of my two years in that dormitory I was introduced to Lost, Arrested Development, Battlestar Galactica, MXC, South Park, The Office, Futurama, Family Guy, Robot Chicken and Heroes. Many of these are now among my favorite TV shows while two in particular grew rather sour and I no longer have any interest in (*coughfamilyguycough* *coughheroescough*). Recent additions to my TV watching are House M.D., Dexter, Fringe, and Dollhouse.

As you can see, I have become something of a TV fiend. There are a ton of shows that I want to eventually get caught up on like 24, The Sopranos, The X-Files, Pushing Daisies, etc. I still look back on those nights of watching those first two seasons of Lost with those same four people to be the highpoint of my TV watching experience. Yelling at the characters, theorizing about what the heck was going on and screams of “WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT?!” at the end of nearly every episode.

Now, as Lost prepares to enter it’s sixth and final season, I’m feeling both incredibly excited and incredibly sad. The mythology that Abrams, Cuse and Lindeloff have created is both fascinating and, at times, confusing as hell. The characters that inhabit this world are equally as fascinating and, yes, at times, confusing as hell (don’t tell me that you’re totally clear on who Jacob is). I will be sad to have to leave the island for good but I’m excited to see how we get there. I felt much the same way when Battlestar Galactica entered into it’s final season.

Being the Lost fanatic that I am (me and the people I watch with have spent as much as an hour discussing the show after we watch it) I have decided that before the final season, I will rewatch the entirety of the series in order to refamilarize myself with what has come before (it’s been at least a year since I watched the first season a second time) so that I can be totally immersed in the mythology (and watching a show over the course of five years makes it easy to forget things like who Claire’s father was).

What does this mean for you? Nothing really, but I’ll be posting my thoughts on storylines, characters and mysteries with the insight of a Lost fanatic.

Could be fun.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

